ResearchBib Share Your Research, Maximize Your Social Impacts
Sign for Notice Everyday Sign up >> Login



Publication Date:

Authors : ;

Page : 93-98

Keywords : ब्राह्मणों; पशुपित;

Source : Downloadexternal Find it from : Google Scholarexternal


Seven names of Rudra are also mentioned in the Atharvaveda, which appear to be the principal names of Shiva in the later Shaiva sects. These seven names are - bhava, sharava, pashupati, avid, rudra, mahadev, ishaan. Although it is common that all these Namdhari deities are depicted as different deities. Bhava and Shiva are said to be the deity ruling over animals and humans. No human or deity can escape from their arrows. He is invited to kill Yatu Dhanu (demon) and other evil spirits. The body has been called the arrowhead and Bhava has been called the king. A desire has also been expressed to take the deadly poisons of his arrows to another place. The omnipresence of Rudra has also been shown, while he has been described as eminent in fire, in waters, in herbs and other plants, and is said to have created all creatures. It is also known that the same mantra was used for Rudra in Atharvasiras Upanishad and Sweteshvatara Upanishad. It has also been said to be the Bhootpati and Pashupati of Bhava and Sharva. Five types of animals ie cows, blacks, humans and sheep and azas are mentioned under the authority of Pashupati. Rudra is also depicted as Dikpal. Ugra is said to be the lord of the four directions and the sky, earth and space. A Sukta prayed that Rudra should not spread diseases, poisons and heavenly fire. Bhava is called Ish and Rajan. It is said in one place that Bhava, Sharva and Rudra who is Pashupati are always (Sadasiva) welfare. It has also been said that the Gods made the Bhava with arrows the protector of the vratas and the lord of the east direction. Made the body the lord of the south direction. Made Rudra the lord of the earth. Made Mahadev the lord of the divine world. Made Ishan into space.

Last modified: 2021-03-16 13:45:01